Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
05/22/2011 - 8:10pm

Yard sale, rummage sale, garage sale…whatever you call it, it means the same thing:  Take my junk so I don’t have to move it around my house to find room for my new junk.  That’s what these sales would be called if it fit on the posters.  Sorting through your stuff trying to decide what to sell can be a little cathartic.  It can bring back memories (both bad and good), help deal with past troubling situations and generally give the feeling of a fresh start.  For most, the yard sale is their idea, but for the hero in this week’s movie, &ldquo

See video
05/15/2011 - 8:40pm

Have you ever had a good, close, best friend you wanted to punch in the mouth?  It can happen.  As a friendship matures, you begin to notice the little things your friend does that annoy you and can start to really grate on your nerves; or, you see your friend doing stupid things and making bad decisions.  If they would just listen to your advice, their life would work out better.  All this care, concern and worry can lead an otherwise reasonable and sane person to feel the overwhelming desire to sock their best friend squarely in the jaw.  I wouldn’t suggest

See video
05/08/2011 - 1:08am

Experience is the best teacher.  I have relearned that lesson myself over the last couple of months as the radio station has changed to a different type of software in my department.  I watched over 20 different online presentations of how the software works, but until I actually got my hands on it and made it work in the real world, I was clueless as to its function.  No matter what kind of job you have, listening to lectures will only give you the bare minimum you need to perform your task.  If you’re a med student, you need to cut up a cadaver to see how things

See video
05/01/2011 - 11:12pm

Have you ever done the wrong thing for the right reason?  The Bible is pretty clear about not committing murder; but, if you or your family is in imminent danger and deadly force is the only option, killing another human being is legally, socially and morally acceptable.  I suppose on some cosmic level it’s still wrong, and those who’ve faced this horrific situation sometimes feel guilty for taking a life, but still, it’s allowed by our laws.  What about stealing $100-million of a drug dealer’s money and using the cash to start new lives under assumed

See video
04/23/2011 - 10:17pm

Sometimes fate deals you a particularly cruel hand.  For instance, my father could create plans in his head and construct a building without blueprints.  He could pull the engine from a car, repair it, re-install it and have it running like new pretty much by himself.  This man who could plumb and wire a house with no formal training, the smartest, most capable man I have ever known, developed Alzheimer’s disease and, by the end of his life, couldn’t figure out how to operate a doorknob.  To me, that seems especially cruel.  The hero of this week’s

See video
04/17/2011 - 8:26pm

Back in my younger days, I used to build models of cars, airplanes and spaceships.  I was cursed with the unfortunate combination of not being a very good model builder and being something of a perfectionist.  As I examined my overly glued and poorly painted efforts, I would think that if I dabbed on a bit more color here or trimmed some excess glue there it would be perfect.  It never was and I was rarely satisfied with my results.  If I had just left my imperfections alone, the model probably would have looked just fine.  Leaving things well enough alone is a less

See video
04/09/2011 - 11:43pm

Is there a moment in your childhood that you believe had a big impact on your life?  I believe one occurred for me when I was in the third grade.  I was nominated to be on my school’s safety patrol which was both a big honor and a big responsibility.  It also meant going on the annual safety patrol trip to Washington DC during my sixth grade year.  In my mind, that trip was magical.  I’d never been anywhere like it before and I dreamed of seeing the Smithsonian Institute’s Air and Space Museum.  I was certain my parents would sign the required

See video
04/03/2011 - 1:39am

Two reviews for you this week.  First is a supernatural thriller I didn’t have much hope for when I first heard about it, followed by an action flick tinged with sci-fi.  One had a budget of less than $2-million, while the other was made for just over $30-million.  One has little-known actors while the other has A-list stars.  Oddly enough, they’re both equally good.

See video
03/27/2011 - 3:08am

Imagination is an escape for some people.  There are stories of prisoners of war who would envision building a lakeside cabin while they were being tortured by their captors to maintain their sanity.  Victims of abuse often create fantasy worlds to escape the pain.  This week’s movie, “Sucker Punch,” tells the story of a woman who not only fantasizes about a better life, but her fantasy self also fantasizes.  It’s layer upon layer of fantasy that could use a healthy dose of reality.

See video
03/19/2011 - 11:37pm

Many times we hear of people (family, friends, co-workers, etc.) who aren’t living up to their potential.  That usually is code for suspicions that the person in question is either lazy or immature; and usually, those suspicions are correct.  Occasionally, there are those few who are neither immature nor lazy, just unable to find the pathway to apply their knowledge and experience to the goal they wish to achieve.  In this week’s movie, “Limitless,” the hero is provided a shortcut to his goal; but that shortcut is loaded with booby traps that could bri