Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
03/19/2011 - 11:37pm

Many times we hear of people (family, friends, co-workers, etc.) who aren’t living up to their potential.  That usually is code for suspicions that the person in question is either lazy or immature; and usually, those suspicions are correct.  Occasionally, there are those few who are neither immature nor lazy, just unable to find the pathway to apply their knowledge and experience to the goal they wish to achieve.  In this week’s movie, “Limitless,” the hero is provided a shortcut to his goal; but that shortcut is loaded with booby traps that could bri

See video
03/13/2011 - 11:24pm

Have you ever questioned everything about your life and world?  Have you ever faced a situation that was completely beyond your lifetime of experiences?  Most of us haven’t.  I know I haven’t.  The closest I have gotten to that situation was when my wife and I moved 500 miles from home to a small town in the Florida Panhandle less than a year after we married.  To say the community we moved to was a different world from what we knew is just about right; however, we quickly found our way, made friends, joined a church and settled into a normal life. 

See video
03/06/2011 - 10:51pm

Normally in this spot, you'd see my efforts at connecting real life to something I'd seen in the movie I am reviewing.  Unfortunately, real life decided to take over and prevent me from seeing a film.  A death in the family and all the visiting, viewing and services that entails occupied all my time this weekend.  Perhaps I'll be able to see two movies this coming weekend.  The updated movie poll contains both last week's and this week's releases and the votes already cast remain.  If you already voted, please feel free to vote again.  Thank

See video
02/26/2011 - 10:46pm

Rare is the second chance and wouldn’t many of us do anything to have a few.  A second chance to sink the winning free throw missed in a championship basketball game, to introduce yourself to the one that got away, to look both ways one more time before pulling out in front of that car, to take that big test in college.  Many people would like a second chance living their entire life.  No one gets that chance, except in the movies.  This week, Nicolas Cage tries to make up for being an absent father by saving the life of his granddaughter in “Drive Angry.&rdq

See video
02/20/2011 - 9:42pm

With Stan’s Choice winning this week’s movie poll, I decided to take a little different approach with my review.  Normally when it’s my choice, I will pick something that I’m eager to see or believe a true movie fan should see.  With the Academy Awards coming up on Sunday, February 27th, I decided to see the last two remaining Best Picture nominated films I had missed when they were in theatres:  “Winter’s Bone” and “The Kids Are All Right.”  Using my Netflix membership to full effect, I sat back in the comfort of my

See video
02/13/2011 - 9:06pm

The old saying goes “It is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all” or words to that effect.  Of course, if you’re feeling the effects of a love lost you’d probably would have preferred to never have loved at all; but, it’s the pain of love (and I don‘t mean that in a whips-and-chains kind of way) that makes the joy of love that much sweeter.  In Shakespeare’s tragedy “Romeo and Juliet,” the doomed pair knows love for only an instant before they take their own lives due to a misunderstanding.  In this

See video
02/05/2011 - 9:33pm

I’m rarely at a loss for words.  Often, my wife, family and friends wish I was.  In school, the thing that got me in trouble most (and had me writing hundreds and hundreds of punishment sentences) was talking in class.  I am one of those people who you should never ask a question of if you don’t really want an answer.  It may not be the correct answer, but you’ll get one.  And while the idea of public speaking fills me with dread and waves of nausea, I am able to string together coherent sentences despite the shaking of my legs.  Some people a

See video
01/30/2011 - 11:59pm

I feel fortunate to be able to say I’ve never been betrayed by someone I respected, depended upon or loved.  Of course there have been moments of hurt and anger, but never outright betrayal.  Considering my emotional makeup, I’d probably curl up into a little ball on the floor if someone very close to me betrayed a confidence or completely threw me under the bus to cover their own failure.  And while I might entertain acts of ultimate revenge in my fantasies, I don’t believe I would formulate a plan and carry it out to extract a metaphorical pound of flesh f

See video
01/23/2011 - 8:16pm

We are frequently told the “good ol’ days” were simpler, happier times.  While the past is often viewed through rose-colored glasses by those who experienced it, the assertion that things were simpler is certainly true.  Relationships are definitely more complicated because of our dedication to chasing after success in our chosen careers.  The rise of Internet dating is a simpler alternative for some; but even that is too time-consuming (not to mention a little scary) for some of today’s busy adults.  The young professionals in this week’s m

See video
01/17/2011 - 1:34am

The Green Hornet