Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
11/28/2010 - 2:06am

This week I saw two very different movies that had more in common than one may expect.  First, there’s the new Disney animated feature “Tangled,” which is a retelling of the fairy tale Repunzel.  Second, there’s the real-life story of Aron Ralston in Danny Boyle’s “127 Hours.”  Both main characters are forced to make difficult decisions that will affect the rest of their lives.  Of course, one does it with computer animation and show tunes while the other uses hallucinations and a dull knife.  To each their own.

See video
11/21/2010 - 11:20pm

A few years ago, I made the mistake of believing something I saw on a TV infomercial.  I should have known better, but it really seemed like something that would solve a problem I had, so I bought the item.  It was a solar-powered device hung in your car window that would suck out hot air and keep the temperature inside your closed up vehicle at something more reasonable.  When you got in your car at the end of a long, hot summer day, it wouldn’t be as unbearable.  When it arrived, I was very excited to finally solve this problem quickly assembled the magical devic

See video
11/14/2010 - 6:48pm

Anyone who has known me for a while or has read my reviews knows I’m a science-fiction fan.  While my tastes are somewhat narrow you can pique my interest in a movie or TV show if you tell me it has some sci-fi elements.  I’m more than willing to give anything with spaceships, aliens, ray guns, quantum singularities, supernovas and anything else otherworldly and fantastical more than a fair chance to impress me.  At the same time, you can’t slap funny nose or extended forehead on an actor, say he’s from another planet, and just expect me to roll over a

See video
11/08/2010 - 12:25am

Is it nature or nurture that decides the kind of person we are?  There are perfectly valid arguments on both sides of the debate and no one really knows for sure.  There is statistical evidence that people who are physically and emotionally abused as children are as adults more likely to be abusive to their children.  Of course, there are people who never experienced any kind of abuse in their formative years who are cruel and evil people as adults.  The question remains:  Is it how you are treated or your brain chemistry that decides your course in life?  And

See video
10/31/2010 - 7:55pm

Some folks take on way too many projects, jobs and tasks for their own good.  For instance, my wife has a full-time job, records books for the blind and dyslexic, volunteers at hospice, sings with two community choruses and is the chapter mother for her college fraternity.  I’m not sure how she does it all and, sometimes, she doesn’t either; however, she never lets her responsibilities overwhelm her.  While the pressures and frustrations of being a teenager may pale in comparison to being an adult, it doesn’t feel that way to the teen.  When we grow up,

See video
10/24/2010 - 12:32am

As a child, I always loved Halloween.  It was the one time of year I was allowed to eat candy with complete abandon.  It was also fun to pick out my costume from the nearby discount store.  Would I be a spaceman or a cowboy or a cartoon character?  The choice was nearly overwhelming.  I was always accompanied on my treat-gathering mission by a parent, usually my mom.  When I was about 10, I was allowed to go out on my own.  I felt like such a grownup, walking through my neighborhood after dark …dressed as an astronaut.  I was nearly back to my

See video
10/17/2010 - 10:08pm

Have you ever done anything that, in retrospect, was completely stupid? One of my earliest memories is pulling a chair up to our kitchen stove, standing on it and touching the pretty, red spiral on the top. Of course, what I got from this was burned fingers and the knowledge that touching a stove eye when it was on was a bad idea. A few years later, I decided to see what would happen if I touched the prongs of an electrical plug while it was still in the socket. It took just one shock for me to understand this was also a bad idea.

See video
10/14/2010 - 8:59am
Stan the Movie Man is on vacation but promises another great review by Monday. Check out some classic Stan the Movie Man review's and just rent a DVD this weekend.
See video
10/03/2010 - 1:12pm

How desperate would you have to be to steal something that didn’t belong to you?  I’m not talking about something physical; I mean an idea.  If you needed a terrific presentation to give at a staff meeting and overheard a discussion in your office of someone else’s plan, would you take it, change a few things and present it as your own?  Since it’s merely an idea and you bring your own spin to it, flesh it out and make it unique, how wrong can it be?  If that idea is Facebook, as it is in this week’s movie “The Social Network,” i

See video
09/25/2010 - 8:55pm

The old saying “You can’t go home again” is probably the most ignored bit of wisdom in Hollywood as it relates to sequels.  There have been five Superman movies, six Batman films, six episodes of Star Wars, four Resident Evil flicks, three Godfathers and the granddaddy of them all, James Bond, with 22 official films.  Not all sequels are a good idea.  For instance, “Halloween III:  Season of the Witch” couldn’t be considered a shining moment.  If “Book of Shadows:  Blair Witch II” had never been made, I think the